The ICS Barry Cohen Prize for medicinal chemistry

Prof. Peter H. Seeberger

Max-Planck-Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam, Germany



For his pioneering contributions to the glycosciences, including automated sugar synthesis, novel vaccines, diagnostics and therapies.

Prof. Matthew D. Disney

The Scripps Research Institute (Florida)



For his seminal contributions to Medical Chemistry in developing small molecule candidate drugs and molecular probes that target RNA and RNA structures.

Prof. Brian K. Shoichet

University of California, San Francisco



For his seminal contributions to computational Medical Chemistry that have led to the discovery of new targets for known drugs and new molecules that modulate the activity of G-Protein Coupled Receptors (GPCRs).

Prof. Paul A. Wender

Stanford University



For his highly significant contributions to synthetic and bioorganic chemistry, ranging from the discovery and development of new reactions, through total syntheses of many key natural product target molecules, to the design of new agents for treating major human diseases.

Prof. Richard B. Silverman

Northwestern University, Illinois, USA


For his outstanding contributions to the field of enzyme inhibition

and the development of new compounds for treatment of neurological disorders.

Prof. Barry M. Trost

Stanford University, California, USA


For his seminal contributions in designing new synthetic techniques for making sophisticated pharmaceuticals.

Please reload


Advancing the chemical sciences, chemical industry and chemistry education