Functions and pathological dysfunctions of RNA and proteins

















Ashraf Brik



Roderich Süssmuth



Chuan He



Moran Shaley Benami



Chunxiao Song



Jeffery W. Kelly



Rina Rosenzweig



Ronald T. Raines



Balskus



Xiaoguang Lei



Jeffrey W.

ICS Symposium Honoring Wolf Prize Laureates Chuan He, Jeffrey W. Kelly, and Hiroaki Suga

Wednesday, June 14, 2023

The David Lopatie Conference Centre, Weizmann Institute of Science

8:30 Gathering

9:00 Opening session

Ehud Keinan, President, Israel Chemical Society

Session 1 | Chair: Mira Amiram

Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

9:20 Hiroaki Suga, University of Tokyo Macrocyclic peptide therapeutics

9:50 Ashraf Brik, Technion

> Novel approaches to Modulate Ubiquitin Signaling: Chemistry and Biology

10:15 Roderich Süssmuth, TU Berlin

Peptide natural products as sources for new

drugs

10:40 □ Coffee break

Session 2 I Chair: Noam Stern Ginossar

Weizmann Institute of Science

11:00 Chuan He, University of Chicago Reversible RNA methylation in gene expression regulation

11:30 Moran Shalev Benami,

Weizmann Institute of Science

When the Heat Is On - Turn Up the Ac(4C) -A Near Atomic Resolution Glance into RNA Acetylation

11:55 Chunxiao Song, University of Oxford Chemical biology tools in epigenetics to advance cancer detection and cancer biology

12:20 M Lunch

Session 3 I Chair: Meytal Landau

Technion

13:20 **Jeffery W. Kelly,** The Scripps Research Institute Pharmacological Adaptation of Proteostasis to Ameliorate Neurodegenerative Diseases

13:50 Rina Rosenzweig,

> Weizmann Institute of Science Unraveling the mechanism driving human chaperone-mediated amyloid disaggregation

14:15 Ronald T. Raines, MIT Lessons from Collagen

14:40 Coffee break

Session 4 | Chair: Micha Fridman

Tel-Aviv University

15:00 Emily P. Balskus, Harvard University Deciphering the human microbiome with chemistry

15:25 Xiaoguang Lei, Peking University Chronic Itch: from Mechanism to **Drug Discovery**

15:50 Jeffrey W. Bode, ETH Zurich Atomically Tailored Proteins and their Applications

16:15 Concluding remarks

Organizing Committee:

- Ehud Keinan
- Rina Rosenzweig
- · Noam Stern-Ginossar
- · Milko van der Boom

Sponsors:

- · Faculty of Chemistry
- · Faculty of Biochemistry
- · Faculty of Biology







Registration



accessibility issues:

Conference coordinator &